DSC_6194

I always say I won’t do it, won’t make those silly resolutions which, come late-February only remind me of my lack of will or fortitude or general moral character.  But the year looms large in front of me, and lists start to form without effort: the Shoulds and the To-Dos and the Goals and then alongside them the fear of failure, of not measuring up to my own standard (as if the person I would make of myself is greater than who He would have me become) And then he asks me this question: Whose voice are you listening to? And I am stilled and I’m reminded that these To-Do lists, so many of them are only about making my name great, but if I make God’s name great instead, pour out His praise and gratitude at every turn of the page, well that is what makes a life great.

Leave a Reply

